A closet full of clothes with nothing to wear!

 A closet full of clothes with nothing to wear!
 
Do you find yourself scouring thru your many pieces of clothing, but end up wearing the same outfits over and over?   This morning I tried on 20 tops, threw them all in a pile and grabbed one of the same 15 tops I wear everyday – sound familiar?  I try to clean out my closets twice a year and today I realized I am well over due.   If you have closets overflowing and nothing to wear, these tips are for you.  Put some good music on and pour a glass of wine and you are ready to tackle this dreaded chore …
check the fit & color

Start with your dresser – empty every drawer on the floor in a huge pile

  • If you have any of your everyday favorites in there – fold them and place them in one of the drawers (I have a whole drawer with all my favorites). 
  • Try everything else on and check the fit and the color with your skin tone
  • Make 2 piles:
    • Pile 1 – the giveaway pile
      • items that you haven’t worn in years
      • items that the color just doesn’t look good on you (if you wear something and everyone asks you if you are feeling ok – pretty good sign you are wearing the wrong color)
    • Pile 2 – items you just can’t part with or they don’t fit correctly
      • With a minor alteration the item will fit
      • Items that you really like, just don’t have anything to match
      • Some of your older favorites that with a little dye in a pot could be refreshed
      • Anything with holes, missing buttons, broken zippers, …
    • Back in the dresser
      • Everything that fits perfectly and you know you will wear it!

Now if you have enough motivation move on to the closets … be honest when you try on all those pants.  Seriously, I have way too many black pants – most of them are too big or too small somewhere or other,  every time I wear black pants I grab one of my favorite 3 pairs.  If you really like the style, but they don’t fit … they go in PILE 2.  If you haven’t worn them in years really consider PILE 1 – departure!  

Once you are finished, take PILE 1 and put all those clothes in a garbage bag – I usually leave this bag in the garage or extra bedroom for about a year – Just in case I wake up in the middle of the night dreaming of that not so fabulous top that I just can’t part from LOL!

Now PILE 2 – divide up into more piles and, by the way, this pile can start very large.  For the items you really like, but don’t have anything to wear it with – those go in one pile, or hang them in a separate section of the closet.  I usually leave a few of these in the car for when I go shopping.  Now for the items that are really looking worn, but you love them for some reason or other – consider dyeing them.  I have revamped so many of my old favorite sweaters – a pot on the stove with some dye and you are ready to go.  Now on to the items that don’t fit … make an appointment with a seamstress and get them altered or be very daring and alter them yourself 🙂

That’s it!  Now every morning you know that anything you might grab will fit, look great on you, and match something in your closet!  if you make the clothing removal I usually do, you will also have plenty of room to go shopping … don’t forget to check out www.AngelaWolf.com for some great spring tops 🙂

http://www.AngelaWolf.com

2 thoughts on “A closet full of clothes with nothing to wear!”

  1. Hi Elaine, thanks for stopping by my blog! I also am now writing a monthly Fashion and Trends Column on Patternreview.com so I hope you will enjoy that as well. Take care 🙂 Angela

    Like

Leave a Reply

